What We Saw – Cars

Big month for cars so far in May. Convertibles are starting to reappear as well as more colorful cars. Hopefully the weather will remain nice enough for more of these fantastic cars to make an appearance in N Portland.

1963 Mercury Monterey

1963 Studebaker Lark VIII Convertible

1966 Chevrolet Chevy II

1966 Volvo 122S

1968 Dodge Dart

1968 Saab 95

1969 International Harvester Scout

1971 Honda 600

1974 Alfa Romeo Spider - Seen in Seattle

1974 Chevrolet Camaro

1977 Datsun B210 Sedan

1977 Fiat 1800 Convertible

1977 International Harvester Scout II

1978 Datsun 510

1979 Ford Fairmont Futura

1984 Chrysler LeBaron Town & Country Convertible

6 responses to “What We Saw – Cars

  1. Where do Portland convertibles winter? Like, do they go south??

  2. PS Love that red Fiat convertible!

  3. That 210 is one of my favorite in town, we actually got a comment (on our post of the same car) saying the paint was original. Believe it?

    My wife and I just moved out of NE into NW, and that’s a definite step back in old car hunting.

  4. No way is all of that paint original, especially around the front fender. That said, it’s not exactly a paint job that would be first on someone’s mind.

  5. Now it seems that I am going to revert back to the pain in the butt know-it-all. I hope these comments are received as they are meant and that is to help an already great blog with this wonderful feature of “What We Saw – Cars” because I really do enjoy traveling streets all the way across the country to see vintage cars still in use. However, the convertible you have listed as “1963 Studebaker Lark VIII Convertible” cannot be a 1963. I know this because of the tail-lights and the chrome trim above the headlights. In fact, the ID here is really easy as there was only one year that the front lights chrome trim curved downward and the is 1961. What a beautiful ’61 it is. I think it would go well with my 1962 Rambler American 400 convertible. They’d make a cute couple.
    As for the 1966 Chevy II below the miss-labeled Studebaker, my family had one back in ’66 that was the same color and model. It was a six cylinder automatic. I got my driver’s permit and first license in that car and drove it through junior year in High-School when we got a 1971 Impala. The biggest thing I remember about it is that the brakes would stick when you had to slam on them and therefore there were numerous times I found myself going around in circles, probably because as a teenager I sped a bit. Okay. I know that once again I am telling you much more than you really want to know – Happy Holidays.

    MWindham

    • You really know your cars, MWindham! You are right about the Studebaker Lark VIII Convertible; it is a ’61. I was searching around for pictures of Lark VIII’s on the internet and found my own car! What a surprise. I’d like to see a photo of your Rambler.

Leave a Reply

