What We Saw – Cars

It’s been a few weeks since the last car update as I’ve been focused on a few other projects and travelling. With those slowing a bit, here’s a few of the cars we’ve seen over the past month.

1962 Studebaker Lark TT

1961 Ford Falcon

1963 Chevrolet Impala

1966 Plymouth Valiant 200

1967 Ford Bronco

1969 Cadillac Coupe DeVille

1969 Dodge Sportsman Van

1970 Ford Maverick

1970 Volvo P1800S

1971 Triumph GT6 Mk3

1972 Citroen DS 2.1

1973 Mercury Cougar

1975 AMC Matador Wagon

1977 Porsche 911 SC

1984 Pontiac Fiero 2M4

1985 Ford Tempo GLX

12 responses to “What We Saw – Cars

  1. Hi.

    In my eyes the car You named: “1970 Volkswagen P1800S”. It is Volvo P1800S.

    Happy driving!

  2. What a great crop! Because I’m from South Bend, I have to say that I like the Studebaker best. But I’m also jazzed by the ’63 Chevy, the Maverick, and the Matador.

  3. Thanks Sartenada! Total goof on my part there, but it’s corrected now.

  4. holyshit a first-gen tempo. that, along with a first-gen taurus, is on my friggin bucket list.

  5. Heck yes, you found that Citroen! My housemate just texted me a picture of that a few days ago saying it was a block from our place in NW, but it moved before I came by with my camera. What part of town did you see it in?

  6. I believe it was in SW on Salmon or something similar. On the east side of the 405. My wife took the photo, so I’m not 100% sure.

  7. i saw that citroen on my commute to work, near the intersection of burnside and sandy. it was driving, actually, which blew my mind.

  8. Hello
    I enjoy your blog, but I have to tell you the car you present as a 1957 Studebaker Lark can’t be one. The Lark was not introduced until 1959. By the shape of the tail lights and the thickness of the B pillar I would say yours is a 1962. I am the proud owner of 1=a ’64 Commander, which is essentially a Lark, but in ’64 they dropped the Lark name.
    MWindham

  9. Hello
    I enjoy your blog, but I have to tell you the car you present as a 1956 Studebaker Lark can’t be one. The Lark was not introduced until 1959. By the shape of the tail lights and the thickness of the B pillar I would say yours is a 1962. I am the proud owner of 1964 Commander, which is essentially a Lark, but in ’64 they dropped the Lark name.
    MWindham

  10. Thanks, not sure how I screwed that one up! Looking at a few other photos I think it’s a ’61.

  11. I certainly don’t want to be a pest, but if you enlarge your picture and take a good look at the shape of the tailights and then compare them to a 1961 you will see that they are markedly different. Combing that information with the grill that narrows it down to either a 1962 0r 1963. The main difference between these two years is that the 1963 had much thinner “B” pillars (the part between the doors) than the 1962. The car in your photo appears to have relatively thick “B” pillars so my guess is still a 1962. If I am wrong then it is a ’63. Because of the design of the rear lights it cannot be a 1961.
    MWindham

  12. Hello,
    It’s me again, but this time I am not writing for any mistakes or correction. I am writing to thank you for helping gain more knowledge about the Studebaker Lark. It all started when I read you caption and saw the “TT” at the end. I was unaware of such a designation so I started researching on the web and in my ample collection of Studebaker literature. It was to no avail. So, being a bit frustrated, I wrote to friends that have forgotten more about Studebakers than I will ever know. They both responded that it was a ’62 and that the “TT” designation stood for “Twin-Traction”, Studebaker’s version of posi-traction. They also said that there would be a chrome circle on the car with the TT in it and that the car had to be a V8 if it had twin – traction. Larks were pretty light cars, so if it has any Studebaker V8 it can really move, but if it has their 289 it will really fly, especially if it has four on the floor. In 1963 they introduced the “Super” Lark, which meant you could get one with an Avanti super-charged engine – those cars are monsters! Anyway, I have probably told you more than you ever wanted to know. I just wanted you to thank you for your website and the opportunity it gave me to learn about these neat little cars.
    MWindham

Leave a Reply

